Showing posts from 2018

Saraki, Dogara, Secondus, others protest Osun election result at INEC

Leaders and members of the Peoples Democratic Party are currently protesting against the outcome of the Osun State Governorship election at the headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission in Abuja. PDP leaders including Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, and the national chairman of the party, Uche Secondus, led the protesters to the commission after they had earlier converged at the national headquarters of the PDP in Abuja. The protesters are demanding that INEC should declare PDP candidate Ademola Adeleke as the winner of the Osun election. Also among the protesters are Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State; former Niger State Governor and presidential aspirant Sule Lamido; Senator Dino Melaye, among others. The protesters are wearing  T-shirts with the inscription  “ the Nigeria Police and INEC are arms of the All Progressives Congress.”

APC releases names of governorship candidates in 24 states [Full list]

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has announced 24 governorship candidates of the party. They will slug it out with candidates of other parties next year February. Yekini Nabena, APC national publicity secretary, released the list in a statement sent to DAILY POST on Friday. He said: “Following the Governorship Primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) held across the country, the Party’s National Working Committee (NWC) at its meeting held on Thursday, 4th October, 2018 ratified the reports of the various Electoral Committees. “The NWC adopted the under-listed as Governorship candidates of the APC for the forthcoming 2019 general elections.” However, flag bearers in 12 others states will be know in the coming days. Full list of the candidates below: 1. ABDULLAHI UMAR GANDUJE – KANO STATE 2. MOHAMMED ABUBAKAR – BAUCHI STATE 3. SIMON LALONG – PLATEAU STATE 4. NASIR EL-RUFAI – KADUNA STATE 5. MOHAMMED BADARU ABUBAKAR – JIGAWA STATE 6. AHMED ALIYU – SOKOTO STATE 7. ABUBAKAR ATI…